Nineteen clubs will paddle their way to victory at the Philippine Dragon Boat Federation’s second leg in Baywalk

By Klyde Manansala | Photos from Facebook

Nineteen club teams are set to compete at the second leg of the Philippine Dragon Boat Federation (PDBF) Regatta on July 1, Sunday at Baywalk, Roxas Boulevard.

Over 600 athletes are anticipated to paddle their respective canoe-kayaks in the event that will feature three categories: the Open and Mixed Standard, where 20 paddlers, one drummer, and one steersman will compete for each club; and the Women’s Small Boat where only 10 paddlers, a drummer, and a steersman apiece will race.

Last March, the Philippine Army Dragon Warriors ruled the Open Standard while the Philippine Coast Guard Dragon Boat Team successfully defended their reign at the Mixed Standard category. The Triton Dragon Boat stood out at the Women’s Small Boat category.

The third and last leg—which will take place in September and December—will decide which of the 19 teams will be hailed as this year’s champion after summing up their points at the end of the year.

Among the 19 teams that will also join the event are Adamson University Paddlers, Amateur Paddlers Philippines, Dragons Republic Paddlers Club, Lake Buhi, Maharlika Drakon, Manila Ocean Park, NTMA, One Piece Drakon Sangres, Onslaught Racing Dragons, Philippine Air Force, Philippine Blue Phoenix, PNP Maritime Patriots, Rogue Pilipinas Paddlers Club, Rowers Club Philippines Sea Dragon, Spitfire Dragons, and Team Bakunawa.

The event is organized by the International Dragon Boat Federation and Asian Dragon Boat Federation.

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive the latest sports news and active lifestyle and fitness features you need